ARM: Remove any correlation between IPC and BogoMips value
authorShreshtha Sahu <ssahu@nvidia.com>
Fri, 19 Jul 2013 05:29:41 +0000 (10:29 +0530)
committerShreshtha Sahu <ssahu@nvidia.com>
Thu, 24 Oct 2013 05:08:57 +0000 (22:08 -0700)
commitb4941d8f5d3c2b6b10876087e861d301b21325a5
treeea3acf999939e61d3697e724c1c4fc0aa496a53c
parent8214e605bbfbe94060b12a191a478e19c878e4df
ARM: Remove any correlation between IPC and BogoMips value

Now that we support a timer-backed delay loop, I'm quickly getting sick
and tired of people complaining that their beloved bogomips value has
decreased. You know who you are!

This patch removes the bogomips line from /proc/cpuinfo, based on the
reasoning that any program parsing this is already broken and, as such,
won't be further broken if the field is removed.

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Acked-by: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>

Patch taken from - https://lkml.org/lkml/2013/5/3/399

Bug 1320222

Change-Id: I484c0b8da47fc9407238d8ba82406cfbf7bb59af
Signed-off-by: Shreshtha Sahu <ssahu@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/302228
Reviewed-by: Kiran Adduri <kadduri@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Matthew Pedro <mapedro@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Bibek Basu <bbasu@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Bharat Nihalani <bnihalani@nvidia.com>
arch/arm/kernel/setup.c
arch/arm/kernel/smp.c