x86: Don't panic if can not alloc buffer for swiotlb
authorYinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Thu, 24 Jan 2013 20:20:16 +0000 (12:20 -0800)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 30 Jan 2013 03:36:53 +0000 (19:36 -0800)
commitac2cbab21f318e19bc176a7f38a120cec835220f
tree1348f7e5a7e50b85bf56a9e1155bed70be13cd51
parent38fa4175e60d98fb1c9815fb14f8057576dade73
x86: Don't panic if can not alloc buffer for swiotlb

Normal boot path on system with iommu support:
swiotlb buffer will be allocated early at first and then try to initialize
iommu, if iommu for intel or AMD could setup properly, swiotlb buffer
will be freed.

The early allocating is with bootmem, and could panic when we try to use
kdump with buffer above 4G only, or with memmap to limit mem under 4G.
for example: memmap=4095M$1M to remove memory under 4G.

According to Eric, add _nopanic version and no_iotlb_memory to fail
map single later if swiotlb is still needed.

-v2: don't pass nopanic, and use -ENOMEM return value according to Eric.
     panic early instead of using swiotlb_full to panic...according to Eric/Konrad.
-v3: make swiotlb_init to be notpanic, but will affect:
     arm64, ia64, powerpc, tile, unicore32, x86.
-v4: cleanup swiotlb_init by removing swiotlb_init_with_default_size.

Suggested-by: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1359058816-7615-36-git-send-email-yinghai@kernel.org
Reviewed-and-tested-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@samsung.com>
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Cc: xen-devel@lists.xensource.com
Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuahkhan@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
arch/mips/cavium-octeon/dma-octeon.c
drivers/xen/swiotlb-xen.c
include/linux/swiotlb.h
lib/swiotlb.c