mm/pagewalk.c: walk_page_range should avoid VM_PFNMAP areas
authorCliff Wickman <cpw@sgi.com>
Fri, 24 May 2013 22:55:36 +0000 (15:55 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 24 May 2013 23:22:53 +0000 (16:22 -0700)
commita9ff785e4437c83d2179161e012f5bdfbd6381f0
tree5aa1ae9e8a721903a0ad337a233cffce2806ea00
parent43c523bff7c3b47506d536c10637be8399dfd85f
mm/pagewalk.c: walk_page_range should avoid VM_PFNMAP areas

A panic can be caused by simply cat'ing /proc/<pid>/smaps while an
application has a VM_PFNMAP range.  It happened in-house when a
benchmarker was trying to decipher the memory layout of his program.

/proc/<pid>/smaps and similar walks through a user page table should not
be looking at VM_PFNMAP areas.

Certain tests in walk_page_range() (specifically split_huge_page_pmd())
assume that all the mapped PFN's are backed with page structures.  And
this is not usually true for VM_PFNMAP areas.  This can result in panics
on kernel page faults when attempting to address those page structures.

There are a half dozen callers of walk_page_range() that walk through a
task's entire page table (as N.  Horiguchi pointed out).  So rather than
change all of them, this patch changes just walk_page_range() to ignore
VM_PFNMAP areas.

The logic of hugetlb_vma() is moved back into walk_page_range(), as we
want to test any vma in the range.

VM_PFNMAP areas are used by:
- graphics memory manager   gpu/drm/drm_gem.c
- global reference unit     sgi-gru/grufile.c
- sgi special memory        char/mspec.c
- and probably several out-of-tree modules

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: remove now-unused hugetlb_vma() stub]
Signed-off-by: Cliff Wickman <cpw@sgi.com>
Reviewed-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.cz>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@gmail.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/pagewalk.c