mm: Close races between THP migration and PMD numa clearing
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Mon, 7 Oct 2013 10:28:46 +0000 (11:28 +0100)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Wed, 13 Nov 2013 03:05:34 +0000 (12:05 +0900)
commita490bb33b51d0fc625c87ed5fff1edfd3a2afeb0
tree32ad68b600db77e4484fc9f8def93de5eeb67f0b
parent174dfa40d63b2250e299d5376937d200e4662b7c
mm: Close races between THP migration and PMD numa clearing

commit 3f926ab945b60a5824369d21add7710622a2eac0 upstream.

THP migration uses the page lock to guard against parallel allocations
but there are cases like this still open

  Task A Task B
  --------------------- ---------------------
  do_huge_pmd_numa_page do_huge_pmd_numa_page
  lock_page
  mpol_misplaced == -1
  unlock_page
  goto clear_pmdnuma
lock_page
mpol_misplaced == 2
migrate_misplaced_transhuge
  pmd = pmd_mknonnuma
  set_pmd_at

During hours of testing, one crashed with weird errors and while I have
no direct evidence, I suspect something like the race above happened.
This patch extends the page lock to being held until the pmd_numa is
cleared to prevent migration starting in parallel while the pmd_numa is
being cleared. It also flushes the old pmd entry and orders pagetable
insertion before rmap insertion.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1381141781-10992-9-git-send-email-mgorman@suse.de
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
mm/huge_memory.c
mm/migrate.c