[SCSI] async: make async_synchronize_full() flush all work regardless of domain
authorDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Tue, 10 Jul 2012 02:33:30 +0000 (19:33 -0700)
committerJames Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
Fri, 20 Jul 2012 08:07:37 +0000 (09:07 +0100)
commita4683487f90bfe3049686fc5c566bdc1ad03ace6
treeb5aeadd3155256378804c04571febeee9f77c5fb
parent2955b47d2c1983998a8c5915cb96884e67f7cb53
[SCSI] async: make async_synchronize_full() flush all work regardless of domain

In response to an async related regression James noted:

  "My theory is that this is an init problem: The assumption in a lot of
   our code is that async_synchronize_full() waits for everything ... even
   the domain specific async schedules, which isn't true."

...so make this assumption true.

Each domain, including the default one, registers itself on a global domain
list when work is scheduled.  Once all entries complete it exits that
list.  Waiting for the list to be empty syncs all in-flight work across
all domains.

Domains can opt-out of global syncing if they are declared as exclusive
ASYNC_DOMAIN_EXCLUSIVE().  All stack-based domains have been declared
exclusive since the domain may go out of scope as soon as the last work
item completes.

Statically declared domains are mostly ok, but async_unregister_domain()
is there to close any theoretical races with pending
async_synchronize_full waiters at module removal time.

Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Acked-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Reported-by: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Reported-by: Eldad Zack <eldadzack@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Eldad Zack <eldad@fogrefinery.com>
Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
drivers/scsi/scsi.c
include/linux/async.h
kernel/async.c