exec: let do_coredump() limit the number of concurrent dumps to pipes
authorNeil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Wed, 23 Sep 2009 22:56:56 +0000 (15:56 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 24 Sep 2009 14:21:00 +0000 (07:21 -0700)
commita293980c2e261bd5b0d2a77340dd04f684caff58
tree69f2b2747548deafb146c18953ebce21ae1f02d4
parent725eae32df7754044809973034429a47e6035158
exec: let do_coredump() limit the number of concurrent dumps to pipes

Introduce core pipe limiting sysctl.

Since we can dump cores to pipe, rather than directly to the filesystem,
we create a condition in which a user can create a very high load on the
system simply by running bad applications.

If the pipe reader specified in core_pattern is poorly written, we can
have lots of ourstandig resources and processes in the system.

This sysctl introduces an ability to limit that resource consumption.
core_pipe_limit defines how many in-flight dumps may be run in parallel,
dumps beyond this value are skipped and a note is made in the kernel log.
A special value of 0 in core_pipe_limit denotes unlimited core dumps may
be handled (this is the default value).

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Signed-off-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Reported-by: Earl Chew <earl_chew@agilent.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@tv-sign.ru>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Documentation/sysctl/kernel.txt
fs/exec.c
kernel/sysctl.c