writeback: add more tracepoints
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Fri, 11 Jan 2013 21:06:37 +0000 (13:06 -0800)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Mon, 14 Jan 2013 14:00:36 +0000 (15:00 +0100)
commit9fb0a7da0c528d9bd49b597aa63b1fe2216c7203
tree146b065709010fd41f4a48e8a494b65b965fc0e8
parent5305cb830834549b9203ad4d009ad5483c5e293f
writeback: add more tracepoints

Add tracepoints for page dirtying, writeback_single_inode start, inode
dirtying and writeback.  For the latter two inode events, a pair of
events are defined to denote start and end of the operations (the
starting one has _start suffix and the one w/o suffix happens after
the operation is complete).  These inode ops are FS specific and can
be non-trivial and having enclosing tracepoints is useful for external
tracers.

This is part of tracepoint additions to improve visiblity into
dirtying / writeback operations for io tracer and userland.

v2: writeback_dirty_inode[_start] TPs may be called for files on
    pseudo FSes w/ unregistered bdi.  Check whether bdi->dev is %NULL
    before dereferencing.

v3: buffer dirtying moved to a block TP.

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
fs/fs-writeback.c
include/trace/events/writeback.h
mm/page-writeback.c