trace: Fix epoll hang when we race with new entries
authorJosef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com>
Mon, 25 Aug 2014 17:59:41 +0000 (13:59 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sun, 5 Oct 2014 21:54:07 +0000 (14:54 -0700)
commit8c1bf5dcfe2ccdb5e514eec86607dbccdfa83096
tree9f2d4fe18555ff7c2d9a68f2128268c0875252d6
parentd5a6d0a4da8d97790df21cf96c1879856aedc651
trace: Fix epoll hang when we race with new entries

commit 4ce97dbf50245227add17c83d87dc838e7ca79d0 upstream.

Epoll on trace_pipe can sometimes hang in a weird case.  If the ring buffer is
empty when we set waiters_pending but an event shows up exactly at that moment
we can miss being woken up by the ring buffers irq work.  Since
ring_buffer_empty() is inherently racey we will sometimes think that the buffer
is not empty.  So we don't get woken up and we don't think there are any events
even though there were some ready when we added the watch, which makes us hang.
This patch fixes this by making sure that we are actually on the wait list
before we set waiters_pending, and add a memory barrier to make sure
ring_buffer_empty() is going to be correct.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/p/1408989581-23727-1-git-send-email-jbacik@fb.com

Cc: Martin Lau <kafai@fb.com>
Signed-off-by: Josef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
kernel/trace/ring_buffer.c