ARM: perf: remove cpu-related misnomers
authorMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Tue, 17 May 2011 10:20:11 +0000 (11:20 +0100)
committerWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Wed, 31 Aug 2011 09:50:12 +0000 (10:50 +0100)
commit8be3f9a2385f91f7bf5c58f351e24b9247898e8f
tree5e293c7702f36b7eafd611bd5e8e710719643ac4
parent3fc2c83087717dc88003428245d97b9d432fff2d
ARM: perf: remove cpu-related misnomers

Currently struct cpu_hw_events stores data on events running on a
PMU associated with a CPU. As this data is general enough to be used
for system PMUs, this name is a misnomer, and may cause confusion when
it is used for system PMUs.

Additionally, 'armpmu' is commonly used as a parameter name for an
instance of struct arm_pmu. The name is also used for a global instance
which represents the CPU's PMU.

As cpu_hw_events is now not tied to CPU PMUs, it is renamed to
pmu_hw_events, with instances of it renamed similarly. As the global
'armpmu' is CPU-specfic, it is renamed to cpu_pmu. This should make it
clearer which code is generic, and which is coupled with the CPU.

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Reviewed-by: Jamie Iles <jamie@jamieiles.com>
Reviewed-by: Ashwin Chaugule <ashwinc@codeaurora.org>
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event_v6.c
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event_v7.c
arch/arm/kernel/perf_event_xscale.c