lockdep: Always try to set ->class_cache in register_lock_class() lockdep_init_map()
authorYong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
Wed, 9 Nov 2011 08:07:14 +0000 (16:07 +0800)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Mon, 14 Nov 2011 12:54:11 +0000 (13:54 +0100)
commit87cdee71166fa107c5dc8e43060eeefa533c6a3b
tree286a359e9e27e404f047ce2fa73458353a4b6e9e
parent7f80850d3f9fd8fda23a317044aef3a6bafab06b
lockdep: Always try to set ->class_cache in register_lock_class() lockdep_init_map()

Commit ["62016250 lockdep: Add improved subclass caching"] tries to
improve performance (expecially to reduce the cost of rq->lock)
when using lockdep, but it fails due to lockdep_init_map() in
which ->class_cache is cleared. The typical caller is
lock_set_subclass(), after that class will not be cached anymore.

This patch tries to achive the goal of commit 62016250 by always
setting ->class_cache in register_lock_class().

=== Score comparison of benchmarks ===

for i in `seq 1 10`; do ./perf bench -f simple sched messaging; done

before:  min: 0.604, max: 0.660, avg: 0.622
after:   min: 0.414, max: 0.473, avg: 0.427

for i in `seq 1 10`; do ./perf bench -f simple sched messaging -g 40; done

before:  min: 2.347, max: 2.421, avg: 2.391
after:   min: 1.652, max: 1.699, avg: 1.671

Signed-off-by: Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com>
Cc: Hitoshi Mitake <mitake@dcl.info.waseda.ac.jp>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20111109080714.GC8124@zhy
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
kernel/lockdep.c