perf, x86: P4 PMU: Fix spurious NMI messages
authorCyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Wed, 16 Feb 2011 11:08:02 +0000 (14:08 +0300)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 16 Feb 2011 11:26:12 +0000 (12:26 +0100)
commit7d44ec193d95416d1342cdd86392a1eeb7461186
tree4abe24161846533d00b0c50a69e600ba190df398
parent85e2efbb1db9a18d218006706d6e4fbeb0216213
perf, x86: P4 PMU: Fix spurious NMI messages

Several people have reported spurious unknown NMI
messages on some P4 CPUs.

This patch fixes it by checking for an overflow (negative
counter values) directly, instead of relying on the
P4_CCCR_OVF bit.

Reported-by: George Spelvin <linux@horizon.com>
Reported-by: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Reported-by: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Reported-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Cc: Lin Ming <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
LKML-Reference: <AANLkTinfuTfCck_FfaOHrDqQZZehtRzkBum4SpFoO=KJ@mail.gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/include/asm/perf_event_p4.h
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_p4.c