HID: provide a helper for validating hid reports
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Wed, 11 Sep 2013 19:56:50 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Tue, 1 Oct 2013 16:17:46 +0000 (09:17 -0700)
commit791abfbee86161ad63bddc6af88c0391ef7332bd
tree679ce9239aaed23b5cc57c7ee471d95fabb91668
parent51f5294797f14185f9b25ad0972a4abbbeff70c6
HID: provide a helper for validating hid reports

commit 331415ff16a12147d57d5c953f3a961b7ede348b upstream.

Many drivers need to validate the characteristics of their HID report
during initialization to avoid misusing the reports. This adds a common
helper to perform validation of the report exisitng, the field existing,
and the expected number of values within the field.

Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Tissoires <benjamin.tissoires@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
drivers/hid/hid-core.c
include/linux/hid.h