memblock: Reimplement memblock_add_region()
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Tue, 12 Jul 2011 09:15:55 +0000 (11:15 +0200)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Thu, 14 Jul 2011 18:47:41 +0000 (11:47 -0700)
commit784656f9c680d334e7b4cdb6951c5c913e5a26bf
treee70487038744f31ebab8ff16e14991f4a6b74222
parented7b56a799cade11f458cd83e1150af54a66b7e8
memblock: Reimplement memblock_add_region()

memblock_add_region() carefully checked for merge and overlap
conditions while adding a new region, which is complicated and makes
it difficult to allow arbitrary overlaps or add more merge conditions
(e.g. node ID).

This re-implements memblock_add_region() such that insertion is done
in two steps - all non-overlapping portions of new area are inserted
as separate regions first and then memblock_merge_regions() scan and
merge all neighbouring compatible regions.

This makes addition logic simpler and more versatile and enables
adding node information to memblock.

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1310462166-31469-3-git-send-email-tj@kernel.org
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
mm/memblock.c