audit: Make testing for a valid loginuid explicit.
authorEric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Tue, 9 Apr 2013 09:22:10 +0000 (02:22 -0700)
committerEric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Wed, 8 May 2013 02:27:15 +0000 (22:27 -0400)
commit780a7654cee8d61819512385e778e4827db4bfbc
treea97ea8256b7507c976714f9e9c48d8dd581d07a6
parentb24a30a7305418ff138ff51776fc555ec57c011a
audit: Make testing for a valid loginuid explicit.

audit rule additions containing "-F auid!=4294967295" were failing
with EINVAL because of a regression caused by e1760bd.

Apparently some userland audit rule sets want to know if loginuid uid
has been set and are using a test for auid != 4294967295 to determine
that.

In practice that is a horrible way to ask if a value has been set,
because it relies on subtle implementation details and will break
every time the uid implementation in the kernel changes.

So add a clean way to test if the audit loginuid has been set, and
silently convert the old idiom to the cleaner and more comprehensible
new idiom.

Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 3.7
Reported-By: Richard Guy Briggs <rgb@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Tested-by: Richard Guy Briggs <rgb@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
include/linux/audit.h
include/uapi/linux/audit.h
kernel/auditfilter.c
kernel/auditsc.c