mm: try_to_unmap_cluster() should lock_page() before mlocking
authorVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Mon, 7 Apr 2014 22:37:50 +0000 (15:37 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Tue, 6 May 2014 14:55:32 +0000 (07:55 -0700)
commit77552735ba84a410447af7e3375625eb4cfd577b
treeef1f322a5c92f758c02c4427ac5b0faf8549fb71
parent9e9c7bb4839e7de12a08d6e6145e73dad351c1ba
mm: try_to_unmap_cluster() should lock_page() before mlocking

commit 57e68e9cd65b4b8eb4045a1e0d0746458502554c upstream.

A BUG_ON(!PageLocked) was triggered in mlock_vma_page() by Sasha Levin
fuzzing with trinity.  The call site try_to_unmap_cluster() does not lock
the pages other than its check_page parameter (which is already locked).

The BUG_ON in mlock_vma_page() is not documented and its purpose is
somewhat unclear, but apparently it serializes against page migration,
which could otherwise fail to transfer the PG_mlocked flag.  This would
not be fatal, as the page would be eventually encountered again, but
NR_MLOCK accounting would become distorted nevertheless.  This patch adds
a comment to the BUG_ON in mlock_vma_page() and munlock_vma_page() to that
effect.

The call site try_to_unmap_cluster() is fixed so that for page !=
check_page, trylock_page() is attempted (to avoid possible deadlocks as we
already have check_page locked) and mlock_vma_page() is performed only
upon success.  If the page lock cannot be obtained, the page is left
without PG_mlocked, which is again not a problem in the whole unevictable
memory design.

Signed-off-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Bob Liu <bob.liu@oracle.com>
Reported-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
mm/mlock.c
mm/rmap.c