ACPI / scan: Make container driver use struct acpi_scan_handler
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Fri, 8 Feb 2013 22:52:39 +0000 (23:52 +0100)
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Wed, 13 Feb 2013 12:43:01 +0000 (13:43 +0100)
commit737f1a9f808280c481681b1f46254fd67023ec2f
treea805f30902127567f74772276a06a2242346f31f
parent38475b3be1517a16d263b0b04dae862bf7027d48
ACPI / scan: Make container driver use struct acpi_scan_handler

Make the ACPI container driver use struct acpi_scan_handler for
representing the object used to initialize ACPI containers and remove
the ACPI driver structure used previously and the data structures
created by it, since in fact they were not used for any purpose.

This simplifies the code and reduces the kernel's memory footprint by
avoiding the registration of a struct device_driver object with the
driver core and creation of its sysfs directory which is unnecessary.

In addition to that, make the namespace walk callback used for
installing the notify handlers for ACPI containers more
straightforward.

This change includes fixes from Toshi Kani.

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Acked-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Tested-by: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Tested-by: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
drivers/acpi/Kconfig
drivers/acpi/container.c
drivers/acpi/internal.h
drivers/acpi/scan.c