rtc-cmos: do dev_set_drvdata() earlier in the initialization
authorDan Carpenter <error27@gmail.com>
Mon, 24 May 2010 21:33:49 +0000 (14:33 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 25 May 2010 15:07:08 +0000 (08:07 -0700)
commit6ba8bcd457d9fc793ac9435aa2e4138f571d4ec5
treed562dedc503e3f67d80517494b53afa651418bb8
parent72cc8e51cfdde9007adab7d841ac4113b05b2c56
rtc-cmos: do dev_set_drvdata() earlier in the initialization

The bug is an oops when dev_get_drvdata() returned null in
cmos_update_irq_enable().  The call tree looks like this:
  rtc_dev_ioctl()
    => rtc_update_irq_enable()
      => cmos_update_irq_enable()

It's caused by a race condition in the module initialization.  It is
rtc_device_register() which makes the ioctl operations live so I moved
the call to dev_set_drvdata() before the call to rtc_device_register().

Addresses https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=15963

Reported-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Dan Carpenter <error27@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Cc: Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <p_gortmaker@yahoo.com>
Cc: Malte Schroder <maltesch@gmx.de>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton@mandriva.com.br>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/rtc/rtc-cmos.c