x86, AMD: Correct {rd,wr}msr_amd_safe warnings
authorBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Mon, 8 Apr 2013 15:57:45 +0000 (17:57 +0200)
committerBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Tue, 16 Apr 2013 09:50:51 +0000 (11:50 +0200)
commit682469a5db6fade318a72406935b5000186e5643
tree0578a2dd19ecf2f3349905ddb5b69991fe3e6d72
parent55a36b65ee7107d6bb557c96fd202c4e90164542
x86, AMD: Correct {rd,wr}msr_amd_safe warnings

The idea with those routines is to slowly phase them out and not call
them on anything else besides K8. They even have a check for that which,
when called too early, fails. Let me explain:

It gets the cpuinfo_x86 pointer from the per_cpu array and when this
happens for cpu0, before its boot_cpu_data has been copied back to the
per_cpu array in smp_store_boot_cpu_info(), we get an empty struct and
thus the check fails.

Use boot_cpu_data directly instead.

Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1365436666-9837-4-git-send-email-bp@alien8.de
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c