printk() - restore timestamp printing at console output
authorKay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Thu, 10 May 2012 02:30:45 +0000 (04:30 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 10 May 2012 03:35:06 +0000 (20:35 -0700)
commit649e6ee33f73ba1c4f2492c6de9aff2254b540cb
treef7fe1b11f4eb7c306a07a8893980a5d34a0886d9
parent5c5d5ca51abd728c8de3be43ffd6bb00f977bfcd
printk() - restore timestamp printing at console output

The output of the timestamps got lost with the conversion of the
kmsg buffer to records; restore the old behavior.

Document, that CONFIG_PRINTK_TIME now only controls the output of
the timestamps in the syslog() system call and on the console, and
not the recording of the timestamps.

Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <levinsasha928@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Reported-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay@vrfy.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
kernel/printk.c
lib/Kconfig.debug