mm: hugetlb: add arch hook for clearing page flags before entering pool
authorWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Mon, 8 Oct 2012 23:29:32 +0000 (16:29 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 9 Oct 2012 07:22:24 +0000 (16:22 +0900)
commit5d3a551c28c6669dc43be40d8fafafbc2ec8f42b
treeb3a9608ca6ab208d2c08e4fb4978037fe805764e
parent01dc52ebdf472f77cca623ca693ca24cfc0f1bbe
mm: hugetlb: add arch hook for clearing page flags before entering pool

The core page allocator ensures that page flags are zeroed when freeing
pages via free_pages_check.  A number of architectures (ARM, PPC, MIPS)
rely on this property to treat new pages as dirty with respect to the data
cache and perform the appropriate flushing before mapping the pages into
userspace.

This can lead to cache synchronisation problems when using hugepages,
since the allocator keeps its own pool of pages above the usual page
allocator and does not reset the page flags when freeing a page into the
pool.

This patch adds a new architecture hook, arch_clear_hugepage_flags, so
that architectures which rely on the page flags being in a particular
state for fresh allocations can adjust the flags accordingly when a page
is freed into the pool.

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/ia64/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/mips/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/powerpc/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/s390/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/sh/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/sparc/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/tile/include/asm/hugetlb.h
arch/x86/include/asm/hugetlb.h
mm/hugetlb.c