ACPI battery: fix async boot oops
authorVegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@gmail.com>
Tue, 7 Apr 2009 08:55:38 +0000 (10:55 +0200)
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Tue, 7 Apr 2009 20:24:54 +0000 (16:24 -0400)
commit5d38258ec026921a7b266f4047ebeaa75db358e5
tree899c26f6e0b63d9de56d2989b97d5da4737390e9
parenta3c270561ea4455cbcea0ac2b53335655d9fc805
ACPI battery: fix async boot oops

> BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at (null)

What happens is that the battery module's init sections are being freed
before the async callback (which was marked __init) has run. This theory
is supported by the fact that the bad RIP value is a vmalloc address.

The immediate fix is to make this a non-init call.

(A better long-term fix is of course to wait with init-section unloading
until a module's async initcalls have been run, which would allow us to
discard this function which is still only run once, after all. Perhaps a
new async_initcall() function for the async/module API, if this is needed
for other modules in the future?)

Reported-by: Arkadiusz Miskiewicz <a.miskiewicz@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Alessandro Suardi <alessandro.suardi@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
drivers/acpi/battery.c