rpmsg: avoid premature deallocation of endpoints
authorOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Wed, 6 Jun 2012 07:09:25 +0000 (10:09 +0300)
committerOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Wed, 4 Jul 2012 08:51:42 +0000 (11:51 +0300)
commit5a081caa0414b9bbb82c17ffab9d6fe66edbb72f
treede3c3d2044db5843e836690732a4f688985e35af
parent6887a4131da3adaab011613776d865f4bcfb5678
rpmsg: avoid premature deallocation of endpoints

When an inbound message arrives, the rpmsg core looks up its
associated endpoint and invokes the registered callback.

If a message arrives while its endpoint is being removed (because
the rpmsg driver was removed, or a recovery of a remote processor
has kicked in) we must ensure atomicity, i.e.:

- Either the ept is removed before it is found

or

- The ept is found but will not be freed until the callback returns

This is achieved by maintaining a per-ept reference count, which,
when drops to zero, will trigger deallocation of the ept.

With this in hand, it is now forbidden to directly deallocate
epts once they have been added to the endpoints idr.

Cc: stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Reported-by: Fernando Guzman Lugo <fernando.lugo@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Ohad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
drivers/rpmsg/virtio_rpmsg_bus.c
include/linux/rpmsg.h