NFSv4: Fix a use-after-free situation in _nfs4_proc_getlk()
authorTrond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Tue, 1 Oct 2013 18:24:58 +0000 (14:24 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 29 Nov 2013 19:11:48 +0000 (11:11 -0800)
commit55fce163b8367ce78c163f0f63a8326ea266c09f
tree15561094734b54e20ccab089278a163e120e44fc
parent5bc7e35d3470bf24c7640984bbfe20afd804afdb
NFSv4: Fix a use-after-free situation in _nfs4_proc_getlk()

commit a6f951ddbdfb7bd87d31a44f61abe202ed6ce57f upstream.

In nfs4_proc_getlk(), when some error causes a retry of the call to
_nfs4_proc_getlk(), we can end up with Oopses of the form

 BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 0000000000000134
 IP: [<ffffffff8165270e>] _raw_spin_lock+0xe/0x30
<snip>
 Call Trace:
  [<ffffffff812f287d>] _atomic_dec_and_lock+0x4d/0x70
  [<ffffffffa053c4f2>] nfs4_put_lock_state+0x32/0xb0 [nfsv4]
  [<ffffffffa053c585>] nfs4_fl_release_lock+0x15/0x20 [nfsv4]
  [<ffffffffa0522c06>] _nfs4_proc_getlk.isra.40+0x146/0x170 [nfsv4]
  [<ffffffffa052ad99>] nfs4_proc_lock+0x399/0x5a0 [nfsv4]

The problem is that we don't clear the request->fl_ops after the first
try and so when we retry, nfs4_set_lock_state() exits early without
setting the lock stateid.
Regression introduced by commit 70cc6487a4e08b8698c0e2ec935fb48d10490162
(locks: make ->lock release private data before returning in GETLK case)

Reported-by: Weston Andros Adamson <dros@netapp.com>
Reported-by: Jorge Mora <mora@netapp.com>
Signed-off-by: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/nfs/nfs4proc.c