fork: move the real prepare_to_copy() users to arch_dup_task_struct()
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Wed, 16 May 2012 22:03:51 +0000 (15:03 -0700)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 16 May 2012 22:16:26 +0000 (15:16 -0700)
commit55ccf3fe3f9a3441731aa79cf42a628fc4ecace9
treefc1baa880f32e9da083998bda8aefc335846fd52
parent36be50515fe2aef61533b516fa2576a2c7fe7664
fork: move the real prepare_to_copy() users to arch_dup_task_struct()

Historical prepare_to_copy() is mostly a no-op, duplicated for majority of
the architectures and the rest following the x86 model of flushing the extended
register state like fpu there.

Remove it and use the arch_dup_task_struct() instead.

Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1336692811-30576-1-git-send-email-suresh.b.siddha@intel.com
Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com>
Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
39 files changed:
arch/alpha/include/asm/processor.h
arch/arm/include/asm/processor.h
arch/avr32/include/asm/processor.h
arch/blackfin/include/asm/processor.h
arch/c6x/include/asm/processor.h
arch/cris/include/asm/processor.h
arch/frv/include/asm/processor.h
arch/frv/kernel/process.c
arch/h8300/include/asm/processor.h
arch/hexagon/include/asm/processor.h
arch/ia64/include/asm/processor.h
arch/m32r/include/asm/processor.h
arch/m68k/include/asm/processor.h
arch/microblaze/include/asm/processor.h
arch/mips/include/asm/processor.h
arch/mn10300/include/asm/processor.h
arch/mn10300/kernel/process.c
arch/openrisc/include/asm/processor.h
arch/parisc/include/asm/processor.h
arch/powerpc/include/asm/processor.h
arch/powerpc/kernel/process.c
arch/s390/include/asm/processor.h
arch/score/include/asm/processor.h
arch/sh/include/asm/processor_32.h
arch/sh/include/asm/processor_64.h
arch/sh/kernel/process.c
arch/sh/kernel/process_32.c
arch/sparc/include/asm/processor_32.h
arch/sparc/include/asm/processor_64.h
arch/tile/include/asm/processor.h
arch/um/include/asm/processor-generic.h
arch/unicore32/include/asm/processor.h
arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
arch/x86/kernel/process.c
arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c
arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
arch/xtensa/include/asm/processor.h
arch/xtensa/kernel/process.c
kernel/fork.c