x86, kdump: Retore crashkernel= to allocate under 896M
authorYinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Tue, 16 Apr 2013 05:23:47 +0000 (22:23 -0700)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Wed, 17 Apr 2013 19:35:33 +0000 (12:35 -0700)
commit55a20ee7804ab64ac90bcdd4e2868a42829e2784
treeae8701054b3da8ac5d46d1cbdbb9c67a5ebd0591
parentc729de8fcea37a1c444e81857eace12494c804a9
x86, kdump: Retore crashkernel= to allocate under 896M

Vivek found old kexec-tools does not work new kernel anymore.

So change back crashkernel= back to old behavoir, and add crashkernel_high=
to let user decide if buffer could be above 4G, and also new kexec-tools will
be needed.

-v2: let crashkernel=X override crashkernel_high=
    update description about _high will be ignored by crashkernel=X
-v3: update description about kernel-parameters.txt according to Vivek.

Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1366089828-19692-4-git-send-email-yinghai@kernel.org
Acked-by: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
arch/x86/kernel/setup.c
include/linux/kexec.h
kernel/kexec.c