select: deal with math overflow from borderline valid userland data
authorArjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Sat, 25 Oct 2008 19:41:41 +0000 (12:41 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sun, 26 Oct 2008 18:22:08 +0000 (11:22 -0700)
commit4d36a9e65d4966b433b2f3424d9457468bc80e00
tree8c7b8e64ae40769a3f9f948491987ba93698ee3a
parent44a504c405ae5c3a80e71acf71d6b1cb0db70715
select: deal with math overflow from borderline valid userland data

Some userland apps seem to pass in a "0" for the seconds, and several
seconds worth of usecs to select().  The old kernels accepted this just
fine, so the new kernels must too.

However, due to the upscaling of the microseconds to nanoseconds we had
some cases where we got math overflow, and depending on the GCC version
(due to inlining decisions) that actually resulted in an -EINVAL return.

This patch fixes this by adding the excess microseconds to the seconds
field.

Also with thanks to Marcin Slusarz for spotting some implementation bugs
in the diagnostics patches.

Reported-by: Carlos R. Mafra <crmafra2@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/compat.c
fs/select.c