percpu: fix pcpu_last_unit_cpu
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Tue, 21 Sep 2010 05:57:19 +0000 (07:57 +0200)
committerTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Tue, 21 Sep 2010 06:12:25 +0000 (08:12 +0200)
commit46b30ea9bc3698bc1d1e6fd726c9601d46fa0a91
tree6c023260df9c957d8f452aa0c1ff42473fa1b1b5
parentb30a3f6257ed2105259b404d419b4964e363928c
percpu: fix pcpu_last_unit_cpu

pcpu_first/last_unit_cpu are used to track which cpu has the first and
last units assigned.  This in turn is used to determine the span of a
chunk for man/unmap cache flushes and whether an address belongs to
the first chunk or not in per_cpu_ptr_to_phys().

When the number of possible CPUs isn't power of two, a chunk may
contain unassigned units towards the end of a chunk.  The logic to
determine pcpu_last_unit_cpu was incorrect when there was an unused
unit at the end of a chunk.  It failed to ignore the unused unit and
assigned the unused marker NR_CPUS to pcpu_last_unit_cpu.

This was discovered through kdump failure which was caused by
malfunctioning per_cpu_ptr_to_phys() on a kvm setup with 50 possible
CPUs by CAI Qian.

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Reported-by: CAI Qian <caiqian@redhat.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
mm/percpu.c