ACPI / battery: Retry to get battery information if failed during probing
authorLan Tianyu <tianyu.lan@intel.com>
Mon, 7 Jul 2014 07:47:12 +0000 (15:47 +0800)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:58:04 +0000 (15:58 -0700)
commit3fef2d562f14e144d5d40b8b68948df3f66ca925
tree30481f56059fc9f75b54d55fb5dc54617ffbdce5
parentb0d9e0106fc25de7491dfddde9729ea220dfd8df
ACPI / battery: Retry to get battery information if failed during probing

commit 75646e758a0ecbed5024454507d5be5b9ea9dcbf upstream.

Some machines (eg. Lenovo Z480) ECs are not stable during boot up
and causes battery driver fails to be loaded due to failure of getting
battery information from EC sometimes. After several retries, the
operation will work. This patch is to retry to get battery information 5
times if the first try fails.

[ backport to 3.14.5: removed second parameter in acpi_battery_update(),
introduced by the commit 9e50bc14a7f58b5d8a55973b2d69355852ae2dae (ACPI /
battery: Accelerate battery resume callback)]

[naszar <naszar@ya.ru>: backport to 3.14.5]
Link: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75581
Reported-and-tested-by: naszar <naszar@ya.ru>
Cc: All applicable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Lan Tianyu <tianyu.lan@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
drivers/acpi/battery.c