Platform: OLPC: allow EC cmd to be overridden, and create a workqueue to call it
authorAndres Salomon <dilinger@queued.net>
Thu, 12 Jul 2012 00:40:25 +0000 (17:40 -0700)
committerAndres Salomon <dilinger@queued.net>
Wed, 1 Aug 2012 03:27:30 +0000 (23:27 -0400)
commit3d26c20bae9e97c98f7240184427d3a38515d406
tree987a82438ffe61b675cf08d33b3e11154b605f58
parent3bf9428f220911795edde453a95f9509945004e5
Platform: OLPC: allow EC cmd to be overridden, and create a workqueue to call it

This provides a new API allows different OLPC architectures to override the
EC driver.  x86 and ARM OLPC machines use completely different EC backends.

The olpc_ec_cmd is synchronous, and waits for the workqueue to send the
command to the EC.  Multiple callers can run olpc_ec_cmd() at once, and
they will by serialized and sleep while only one executes on the EC at a time.

We don't provide an unregister function, as that doesn't make sense within
the context of OLPC machines - there's only ever 1 EC, it's critical to
functionality, and it certainly not hotpluggable.

Signed-off-by: Andres Salomon <dilinger@queued.net>
Acked-by: Paul Fox <pgf@laptop.org>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
drivers/platform/olpc/olpc-ec.c
include/linux/olpc-ec.h