nohz: Pack nohz Kconfig option in a menu of choices
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Wed, 10 Aug 2011 21:21:01 +0000 (23:21 +0200)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Wed, 3 Apr 2013 12:00:46 +0000 (14:00 +0200)
commit3ca277e41914ab344214ed50a41c14c48ae973f3
treef8111dd8771c7be6d22e259f294b3117b6d1cb25
parent3451d0243c3cdfd729b36f9684a14659d4895ca3
nohz: Pack nohz Kconfig option in a menu of choices

Now the user has the choice between three implementations of
the timer tick:

* Static periodic tick
* Idle dynticks
* Full dynticks

At least for now, these are mutually exclusive choices, so
let's rely on the proper Kconfig feature to display these
to the user.

A new entry CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE is created and the old
CONFIG_NO_HZ maps to it for config file backward compatibility.
The old name was too general now that we have more
granular dynticks implementations.

While at it, add some explanation to help the user on
his decision between the 3 entries.

Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
kernel/time/Kconfig