fs: Preserve error code in get_empty_filp(), part 2
authorAnatol Pomozov <anatol.pomozov@gmail.com>
Thu, 13 Sep 2012 03:11:55 +0000 (20:11 -0700)
committerAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Sat, 23 Feb 2013 04:31:32 +0000 (23:31 -0500)
commit39b652527457452f09b35044fb4f8b3b0eabafdf
treeacd8fda1d4e37c58c68fe0cfb9288d5d06e14441
parent1afc99beaf0fca3767d9b67789a7ae91c4f7a9c9
fs: Preserve error code in get_empty_filp(), part 2

Allocating a file structure in function get_empty_filp() might fail because
of several reasons:
 - not enough memory for file structures
 - operation is not allowed
 - user is over its limit

Currently the function returns NULL in all cases and we loose the exact
reason of the error. All callers of get_empty_filp() assume that the function
can fail with ENFILE only.

Return error through pointer. Change all callers to preserve this error code.

[AV: cleaned up a bit, carved the get_empty_filp() part out into a separate commit
(things remaining here deal with alloc_file()), removed pipe(2) behaviour change]

Signed-off-by: Anatol Pomozov <anatol.pomozov@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
arch/ia64/kernel/perfmon.c
fs/anon_inodes.c
fs/file_table.c
fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c
fs/pipe.c
ipc/shm.c
mm/shmem.c
net/socket.c