aio: refcounting cleanup
authorKent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Tue, 7 May 2013 23:18:41 +0000 (16:18 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 8 May 2013 01:38:28 +0000 (18:38 -0700)
commit36f5588905c10a8c4568a210d601fe8c3c27e0f0
treef9d313abfd454b27c38df609b41cd0e4a071e0a9
parent11599ebac4a249ab3c8b9a535c21db7a51458c0a
aio: refcounting cleanup

The usage of ctx->dead was fubar - it makes no sense to explicitly check
it all over the place, especially when we're already using RCU.

Now, ctx->dead only indicates whether we've dropped the initial
refcount. The new teardown sequence is:

  set ctx->dead
  hlist_del_rcu();
  synchronize_rcu();

Now we know no system calls can take a new ref, and it's safe to drop
the initial ref:

  put_ioctx();

We also need to ensure there are no more outstanding kiocbs.  This was
done incorrectly - it was being done in kill_ctx(), and before dropping
the initial refcount.  At this point, other syscalls may still be
submitting kiocbs!

Now, we cancel and wait for outstanding kiocbs in free_ioctx(), after
kioctx->users has dropped to 0 and we know no more iocbs could be
submitted.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Cc: Zach Brown <zab@redhat.com>
Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org>
Reviewed-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/aio.c