debugfs: fix race in u32_array_read and allocate array at open
authorDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Fri, 21 Sep 2012 09:16:29 +0000 (02:16 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 21 Sep 2012 17:28:17 +0000 (10:28 -0700)
commit36048853c5257a7b6df346b83758ffa776a59e9f
treec8167eb505d2f8af213faa15acf27c6554783294
parentc46de2263f42fb4bbde411b9126f471e9343cb22
debugfs: fix race in u32_array_read and allocate array at open

u32_array_open() is racy when multiple threads read from a file with a
seek position of zero, i.e. when two or more simultaneous reads are
occurring after the non-seekable files are created.  It is possible that
file->private_data is double-freed because the threads races between

kfree(file->private-data);

and

file->private_data = NULL;

The fix is to only do format_array_alloc() when the file is opened and
free it when it is closed.

Note that because the file has always been non-seekable, you can't open
it and read it multiple times anyway, so the data has always been
generated just once.  The difference is that now it is generated at open
time rather than at the time of the first read, and that avoids the
race.

Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Tested-by: Raghavendra <raghavendra.kt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/debugfs/file.c