mm/mmu_notifier: allocate mmu_notifier in advance
authorGavin Shan <shangw@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Thu, 25 Oct 2012 20:38:01 +0000 (13:38 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 25 Oct 2012 21:37:53 +0000 (14:37 -0700)
commit35cfa2b0b491c37e23527822bf365610dbb188e5
tree6ed3462dbfa3d9e2bc124b03e290e497e503b12e
parentfc314d0a4a933603f521de343634910a4ed9b37b
mm/mmu_notifier: allocate mmu_notifier in advance

While allocating mmu_notifier with parameter GFP_KERNEL, swap would start
to work in case of tight available memory.  Eventually, that would lead to
a deadlock while the swap deamon swaps anonymous pages.  It was caused by
commit e0f3c3f78da29b ("mm/mmu_notifier: init notifier if necessary").

  =================================
  [ INFO: inconsistent lock state ]
  3.7.0-rc1+ #518 Not tainted
  ---------------------------------
  inconsistent {RECLAIM_FS-ON-W} -> {IN-RECLAIM_FS-W} usage.
  kswapd0/35 [HC0[0]:SC0[0]:HE1:SE1] takes:
   (&mapping->i_mmap_mutex){+.+.?.}, at: page_referenced+0x9c/0x2e0
  {RECLAIM_FS-ON-W} state was registered at:
     mark_held_locks+0x86/0x150
     lockdep_trace_alloc+0x67/0xc0
     kmem_cache_alloc_trace+0x33/0x230
     do_mmu_notifier_register+0x87/0x180
     mmu_notifier_register+0x13/0x20
     kvm_dev_ioctl+0x428/0x510
     do_vfs_ioctl+0x98/0x570
     sys_ioctl+0x91/0xb0
     system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b
  irq event stamp: 825
  hardirqs last  enabled at (825): _raw_spin_unlock_irq+0x30/0x60
  hardirqs last disabled at (824): _raw_spin_lock_irq+0x19/0x80
  softirqs last  enabled at (0): copy_process+0x630/0x17c0
  softirqs last disabled at (0): (null)
  ...

Simply back out the above commit, which was a small performance
optimization.

Signed-off-by: Gavin Shan <shangw@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Reported-by: Andrea Righi <andrea@betterlinux.com>
Tested-by: Andrea Righi <andrea@betterlinux.com>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Cc: Xiao Guangrong <xiaoguangrong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Sagi Grimberg <sagig@mellanox.co.il>
Cc: Haggai Eran <haggaie@mellanox.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/mmu_notifier.c