x86-64: Add user_64bit_mode paravirt op
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@MIT.EDU>
Wed, 3 Aug 2011 13:31:53 +0000 (09:31 -0400)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Thu, 4 Aug 2011 23:13:49 +0000 (16:13 -0700)
commit318f5a2a672152328c9fb4dead504b89ec738a43
treed37bcc93c8c1b29c057c44dac13148531706631e
parent5d5791af4c0d4fd32093882357506355c3357503
x86-64: Add user_64bit_mode paravirt op

Three places in the kernel assume that the only long mode CPL 3
selector is __USER_CS.  This is not true on Xen -- Xen's sysretq
changes cs to the magic value 0xe033.

Two of the places are corner cases, but as of "x86-64: Improve
vsyscall emulation CS and RIP handling"
(c9712944b2a12373cb6ff8059afcfb7e826a6c54), vsyscalls will segfault
if called with Xen's extra CS selector.  This causes a panic when
older init builds die.

It seems impossible to make Xen use __USER_CS reliably without
taking a performance hit on every system call, so this fixes the
tests instead with a new paravirt op.  It's a little ugly because
ptrace.h can't include paravirt.h.

Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@mit.edu>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/f4fcb3947340d9e96ce1054a432f183f9da9db83.1312378163.git.luto@mit.edu
Reported-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
arch/x86/include/asm/desc.h
arch/x86/include/asm/paravirt_types.h
arch/x86/include/asm/ptrace.h
arch/x86/kernel/paravirt.c
arch/x86/kernel/step.c
arch/x86/kernel/vsyscall_64.c
arch/x86/mm/fault.c
arch/x86/xen/enlighten.c