cifs: don't compare uniqueids in cifs_prime_dcache unless server inode numbers are...
authorJeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Tue, 18 Dec 2012 11:35:10 +0000 (06:35 -0500)
committerSteve French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
Thu, 20 Dec 2012 17:27:16 +0000 (11:27 -0600)
commit2f2591a34db6c9361faa316c91a6e320cb4e6aee
tree4f738f504ffa0be915db7cc4e2a0a12a0f459264
parent8367224b2e90eb716dc54f3d83cd73b7efb2ea30
cifs: don't compare uniqueids in cifs_prime_dcache unless server inode numbers are in use

Oliver reported that commit cd60042c caused his cifs mounts to
continually thrash through new inodes on readdir. His servers are not
sending inode numbers (or he's not using them), and the new test in
that function doesn't account for that sort of setup correctly.

If we're not using server inode numbers, then assume that the inode
attached to the dentry hasn't changed. Go ahead and update the
attributes in place, but keep the same inode number.

Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # v3.5+
Reported-and-Tested-by: Oliver Mössinger <Oliver.Moessinger@ichaus.de>
Signed-off-by: Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Steve French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
fs/cifs/readdir.c