rcu: Settle config for userspace extended quiescent state
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Wed, 11 Jul 2012 18:26:30 +0000 (20:26 +0200)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Wed, 26 Sep 2012 13:44:04 +0000 (15:44 +0200)
commit2b1d5024e17be459aa6385763ca3faa8f01c52d9
tree45d1ea5872eea69b7f0443086d98ddbcbc221b94
parent9a0c6fef423528ba5b62aa31b29aabf689eb8f70
rcu: Settle config for userspace extended quiescent state

Create a new config option under the RCU menu that put
CPUs under RCU extended quiescent state (as in dynticks
idle mode) when they run in userspace. This require
some contribution from architectures to hook into kernel
and userspace boundaries.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com>
Cc: Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Sven-Thorsten Dietrich <thebigcorporation@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Reviewed-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
arch/Kconfig
include/linux/rcupdate.h
init/Kconfig
kernel/rcutree.c