PM / Hibernate: Freeze kernel threads after preallocating memory
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Mon, 26 Sep 2011 18:32:27 +0000 (20:32 +0200)
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Sun, 16 Oct 2011 21:28:52 +0000 (23:28 +0200)
commit2aede851ddf08666f68ffc17be446420e9d2a056
treef63a0477c9fe618cd374065bac4cb5f172aaf7db
parent8f88893c05f2f677f18f2ce5591b4bed5d4a7535
PM / Hibernate: Freeze kernel threads after preallocating memory

There is a problem with the current ordering of hibernate code which
leads to deadlocks in some filesystems' memory shrinkers.  Namely,
some filesystems use freezable kernel threads that are inactive when
the hibernate memory preallocation is carried out.  Those same
filesystems use memory shrinkers that may be triggered by the
hibernate memory preallocation.  If those memory shrinkers wait for
the frozen kernel threads, the hibernate process deadlocks (this
happens with XFS, for one example).

Apparently, it is not technically viable to redesign the filesystems
in question to avoid the situation described above, so the only
possible solution of this issue is to defer the freezing of kernel
threads until the hibernate memory preallocation is done, which is
implemented by this change.

Unfortunately, this requires the memory preallocation to be done
before the "prepare" stage of device freeze, so after this change the
only way drivers can allocate additional memory for their freeze
routines in a clean way is to use PM notifiers.

Reported-by: Christoph <cr2005@u-club.de>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Documentation/power/devices.txt
include/linux/freezer.h
kernel/power/hibernate.c
kernel/power/power.h
kernel/power/process.c