dm: implement REQ_FLUSH/FUA support for request-based dm
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Wed, 8 Sep 2010 16:07:00 +0000 (18:07 +0200)
committerJens Axboe <jaxboe@fusionio.com>
Fri, 10 Sep 2010 10:35:38 +0000 (12:35 +0200)
commit29e4013de7ad950280e4b220894986866697d419
tree302e99d146940d043696f3e53b3814e65f99b269
parentd87f4c14f27dc82d215108d8392a7d26687148a1
dm: implement REQ_FLUSH/FUA support for request-based dm

This patch converts request-based dm to support the new REQ_FLUSH/FUA.

The original request-based flush implementation depended on
request_queue blocking other requests while a barrier sequence is in
progress, which is no longer true for the new REQ_FLUSH/FUA.

In general, request-based dm doesn't have infrastructure for cloning
one source request to multiple targets, but the original flush
implementation had a special mostly independent path which can issue
flushes to multiple targets and sequence them.  However, the
capability isn't currently in use and adds a lot of complexity.
Moreoever, it's unlikely to be useful in its current form as it
doesn't make sense to be able to send out flushes to multiple targets
when write requests can't be.

This patch rips out special flush code path and deals handles
REQ_FLUSH/FUA requests the same way as other requests.  The only
special treatment is that REQ_FLUSH requests use the block address 0
when finding target, which is enough for now.

* added BUG_ON(!dm_target_is_valid(ti)) in dm_request_fn() as
  suggested by Mike Snitzer

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Tested-by: Kiyoshi Ueda <k-ueda@ct.jp.nec.com>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <jaxboe@fusionio.com>
drivers/md/dm.c