PCI/PM: Clean up PME state when removing a device
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Mon, 11 Feb 2013 19:49:49 +0000 (20:49 +0100)
committerBjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Wed, 13 Feb 2013 18:58:02 +0000 (11:58 -0700)
commit249bfb83cf8ba658955f0245ac3981d941f746ee
treeb8ff98edba2c9803619345095ae4f519152d9ce6
parent444ee9bd3d0fa78317c6127c961af5accf50038b
PCI/PM: Clean up PME state when removing a device

Devices are added to pci_pme_list when drivers use pci_enable_wake()
or pci_wake_from_d3(), but they aren't removed from the list unless
the driver explicitly disables wakeup.  Many drivers never disable
wakeup, so their devices remain on the list even after they are
removed, e.g., via hotplug.  A subsequent PME poll will oops when
it tries to touch the device.

This patch disables PME# on a device before removing it, which removes
the device from pci_pme_list.  This is safe even if the device never
had PME# enabled.

This oops can be triggered by unplugging a Thunderbolt ethernet adapter
on a Macbook Pro, as reported by Daniel below.

[bhelgaas: changelog]
Reference: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/CAMVG2svG21yiM1wkH4_2pen2n+cr2-Zv7TbH3Gj+8MwevZjDbw@mail.gmail.com
Reported-and-tested-by: Daniel J Blueman <daniel@quora.org>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
CC: stable@vger.kernel.org
drivers/pci/remove.c