selinux: handle TCP SYN-ACK packets correctly in selinux_ip_output()
authorPaul Moore <pmoore@redhat.com>
Wed, 4 Dec 2013 21:10:45 +0000 (16:10 -0500)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 20 Dec 2013 15:45:09 +0000 (07:45 -0800)
commit216c4a776a12148e8386070da71b9f10ab854e93
treeff599bc8a66e0518135ff8ad95fbc9550caf4cae
parentc588502a732451d199ea27fa5eae9045230e786b
selinux: handle TCP SYN-ACK packets correctly in selinux_ip_output()

commit 47180068276a04ed31d24fe04c673138208b07a9 upstream.

In selinux_ip_output() we always label packets based on the parent
socket.  While this approach works in almost all cases, it doesn't
work in the case of TCP SYN-ACK packets when the correct label is not
the label of the parent socket, but rather the label of the larval
socket represented by the request_sock struct.

Unfortunately, since the request_sock isn't queued on the parent
socket until *after* the SYN-ACK packet is sent, we can't lookup the
request_sock to determine the correct label for the packet; at this
point in time the best we can do is simply pass/NF_ACCEPT the packet.
It must be said that simply passing the packet without any explicit
labeling action, while far from ideal, is not terrible as the SYN-ACK
packet will inherit any IP option based labeling from the initial
connection request so the label *should* be correct and all our
access controls remain in place so we shouldn't have to worry about
information leaks.

Reported-by: Janak Desai <Janak.Desai@gtri.gatech.edu>
Tested-by: Janak Desai <Janak.Desai@gtri.gatech.edu>
Signed-off-by: Paul Moore <pmoore@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
security/selinux/hooks.c