nohz: Remove tick_nohz_idle_enter_norcu() / tick_nohz_idle_exit_norcu()
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Thu, 17 Nov 2011 17:48:14 +0000 (18:48 +0100)
committerPaul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Sun, 11 Dec 2011 18:31:57 +0000 (10:31 -0800)
commit1268fbc746ea1cd279886a740dcbad4ba5232225
treedc0ff36b4114992a3f67479e25132f5e99f36b9e
parentb58bdccaa8d908e0f71dae396468a0d3f7bb3125
nohz: Remove tick_nohz_idle_enter_norcu() / tick_nohz_idle_exit_norcu()

Those two APIs were provided to optimize the calls of
tick_nohz_idle_enter() and rcu_idle_enter() into a single
irq disabled section. This way no interrupt happening in-between would
needlessly process any RCU job.

Now we are talking about an optimization for which benefits
have yet to be measured. Let's start simple and completely decouple
idle rcu and dyntick idle logics to simplify.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
17 files changed:
arch/arm/kernel/process.c
arch/avr32/kernel/process.c
arch/blackfin/kernel/process.c
arch/microblaze/kernel/process.c
arch/mips/kernel/process.c
arch/openrisc/kernel/idle.c
arch/powerpc/kernel/idle.c
arch/powerpc/platforms/iseries/setup.c
arch/s390/kernel/process.c
arch/sh/kernel/idle.c
arch/sparc/kernel/process_64.c
arch/tile/kernel/process.c
arch/um/kernel/process.c
arch/unicore32/kernel/process.c
arch/x86/kernel/process_32.c
include/linux/tick.h
kernel/time/tick-sched.c