ACPI: Fix lockdep false positives in acpi_power_off()
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Wed, 6 Jul 2011 18:44:25 +0000 (20:44 +0200)
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Wed, 13 Jul 2011 18:49:09 +0000 (14:49 -0400)
commit07e49a7a31153a95caa270d8ad7350a0bcd4d511
tree6a3fd7777be85069bcc44177b2348f7f618d4a47
parent8d86e5f91440aa56a5df516bf58fe3883552ad56
ACPI: Fix lockdep false positives in acpi_power_off()

All ACPICA locks are allocated by the same function,
acpi_os_create_lock(), with the help of a local variable called
"lock".  Thus, when lockdep is enabled, it uses "lock" as the
name of all those locks and regards them as instances of the same
lock, which causes it to report possible locking problems with them
when there aren't any.

To work around this problem, define acpi_os_create_lock() as a macro
and make it pass its argument to spin_lock_init(), so that lockdep
uses it as the name of the new lock.  Define this macron in a
Linux-specific file, to minimize the resulting modifications of
the OS-independent ACPICA parts.

This change is based on an earlier patch from Andrea Righi and it
addresses a regression from 2.6.39 tracked as
https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=38152

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Reported-and-tested-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Tested-by: Andrea Righi <andrea@betterlinux.com>
Reviewed-by: Florian Mickler <florian@mickler.org>
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
drivers/acpi/osl.c
include/acpi/acpiosxf.h
include/acpi/platform/aclinux.h