nohz: Force boot CPU outside full dynticks range
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Wed, 27 Mar 2013 01:18:34 +0000 (02:18 +0100)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Fri, 19 Apr 2013 11:53:14 +0000 (13:53 +0200)
commit0453b435df0d69dd0d8c42eb9b3015aaf0d8a032
treea941e04d55e74cc40285834a37175a5be41c12db
parent65d798f0f9339ae2c4ebe9480e3260b33382a584
nohz: Force boot CPU outside full dynticks range

The timekeeping job must be able to run early on boot
because there may be some pre-SMP (and thus pre-initcalls )
components that rely on it. The IO-APIC is one such users
as it tests the timer health by watching jiffies progression.

Given that it happens before we know the initial online
set, we can't rely on it to select a timekeeper. We need
one before SMP time otherwise we simply crash on boot.

To fix this and keep things simple for now, force the boot CPU
outside of the full dynticks range in any case and do this early
on kernel parameter parsing time.

We might want a trickier solution later, expecially for aSMP
architectures that need to assign housekeeping tasks to arbitrary
low power CPUs.

But it's still first pass KISS time for now.

Reviewed-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
kernel/time/tick-sched.c