perf record: Add ability to record event period
authorAndrew Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Tue, 20 Dec 2011 14:32:45 +0000 (17:32 +0300)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Tue, 20 Dec 2011 14:50:09 +0000 (12:50 -0200)
commit3e76ac78b08479e84a3eca3fb1b3066fb8230461
tree974a1ca64ec49605232f2d4800e6b8b23c0837c7
parent124ba9403318d834ef21bcd899c22c870708d2c4
perf record: Add ability to record event period

The problem is that when SAMPLE_PERIOD is not set, the kernel generates
a number of samples in proportion to an event's period. Number of these
samples may be too big and the kernel throttles all samples above a
defined limit.

E.g.: I want to trace when a process sleeps. I created a process which
sleeps for 1ms and for 4ms.  perf got 100 events in both cases.

swapper 0 [000] 1141.371830: sched_stat_sleep: comm=foo pid=1801 delay=1386750 [ns]
swapper 0 [000] 1141.369444: sched_stat_sleep: comm=foo pid=1801 delay=4499585 [ns]

In the first case a kernel want to send 4499585 events and in the second
case it wants to send 1386750 events.  perf-reports shows that process
sleeps in both places equal time.

Instead of this we can get only one sample with an attribute period. As
result we have less data transferring between kernel and user-space and
we avoid throttling of samples.

The patch "events: Don't divide events if it has field period" added a
kernel part of this functionality.

Acked-by: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: devel@openvz.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1324391565-1369947-1-git-send-email-avagin@openvz.org
Signed-off-by: Andrew Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
tools/perf/builtin-record.c
tools/perf/perf.h
tools/perf/util/evsel.c