ipv6: fix route selection if kernel is not compiled with CONFIG_IPV6_ROUTER_PREF
authorHannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@stressinduktion.org>
Thu, 11 Jul 2013 10:43:42 +0000 (12:43 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sun, 28 Jul 2013 23:30:00 +0000 (16:30 -0700)
commitb4f1489ed58cb6337c663d6eabd8be86c84bf9f1
tree9ade3659787639a207f61cf7bc87639dbff6441b
parent61b6f1280da836ca67e6e4cfaefd65e989f6bfbc
ipv6: fix route selection if kernel is not compiled with CONFIG_IPV6_ROUTER_PREF

[ Upstream commit afc154e978de1eb11c555bc8bcec1552f75ebc43 ]

This is a follow-up patch to 3630d40067a21d4dfbadc6002bb469ce26ac5d52
("ipv6: rt6_check_neigh should successfully verify neigh if no NUD
information are available").

Since the removal of rt->n in rt6_info we can end up with a dst ==
NULL in rt6_check_neigh. In case the kernel is not compiled with
CONFIG_IPV6_ROUTER_PREF we should also select a route with unkown
NUD state but we must not avoid doing round robin selection on routes
with the same target. So introduce and pass down a boolean ``do_rr'' to
indicate when we should update rt->rr_ptr. As soon as no route is valid
we do backtracking and do a lookup on a higher level in the fib trie.

v2:
a) Improved rt6_check_neigh logic (no need to create neighbour there)
   and documented return values.

v3:
a) Introduce enum rt6_nud_state to get rid of the magic numbers
   (thanks to David Miller).
b) Update and shorten commit message a bit to actualy reflect
   the source.

Reported-by: Pierre Emeriaud <petrus.lt@gmail.com>
Cc: YOSHIFUJI Hideaki <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>
Signed-off-by: Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@stressinduktion.org>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
net/ipv6/route.c