memcg: execute the whole memcg freeing in free_worker()
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Tue, 18 Dec 2012 22:22:13 +0000 (14:22 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 18 Dec 2012 23:02:13 +0000 (15:02 -0800)
commitc8b2a36fb1597e9390cf4c1a7f2dd394dc7d7b17
treeb43700c24ea8737138e523ebf492f3b29eb23ecf
parentbea207c86e4eb158bf20f7b36bee72da9272e8d3
memcg: execute the whole memcg freeing in free_worker()

A lot of the initialization we do in mem_cgroup_create() is done with
softirqs enabled.  This include grabbing a css id, which holds
&ss->id_lock->rlock, and the per-zone trees, which holds
rtpz->lock->rlock.  All of those signal to the lockdep mechanism that
those locks can be used in SOFTIRQ-ON-W context.

This means that the freeing of memcg structure must happen in a
compatible context, otherwise we'll get a deadlock, like the one below,
caught by lockdep:

   free_accounted_pages+0x47/0x4c
   free_task+0x31/0x5c
   __put_task_struct+0xc2/0xdb
   put_task_struct+0x1e/0x22
   delayed_put_task_struct+0x7a/0x98
   __rcu_process_callbacks+0x269/0x3df
   rcu_process_callbacks+0x31/0x5b
   __do_softirq+0x122/0x277

This usage pattern could not be triggered before kmem came into play.
With the introduction of kmem stack handling, it is possible that we call
the last mem_cgroup_put() from the task destructor, which is run in an rcu
callback.  Such callbacks are run with softirqs disabled, leading to the
offensive usage pattern.

In general, we have little, if any, means to guarantee in which context
the last memcg_put will happen.  The best we can do is test it and try to
make sure no invalid context releases are happening.  But as we add more
code to memcg, the possible interactions grow in number and expose more
ways to get context conflicts.  One thing to keep in mind, is that part of
the freeing process is already deferred to a worker, such as vfree(), that
can only be called from process context.

For the moment, the only two functions we really need moved away are:

  * free_css_id(), and
  * mem_cgroup_remove_from_trees().

But because the later accesses per-zone info,
free_mem_cgroup_per_zone_info() needs to be moved as well.  With that, we
are left with the per_cpu stats only.  Better move it all.

Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>
Tested-by: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Acked-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: JoonSoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Suleiman Souhlal <suleiman@google.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memcontrol.c