mm: provide more accurate estimation of pages occupied by memmap
authorJiang Liu <liuj97@gmail.com>
Wed, 12 Dec 2012 21:52:19 +0000 (13:52 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 13 Dec 2012 01:38:35 +0000 (17:38 -0800)
commit01cefaef40c48c714b7476e62781230993e10dbf
tree9dc4b2db2a257e1f8a533511dbdfb585712bc380
parent02c0ab684fc41bc13ba8d5ad89b0dc73b092fa08
mm: provide more accurate estimation of pages occupied by memmap

If SPARSEMEM is enabled, it won't build page structures for non-existing
pages (holes) within a zone, so provide a more accurate estimation of
pages occupied by memmap if there are bigger holes within the zone.

And pages for highmem zones' memmap will be allocated from lowmem, so
charge nr_kernel_pages for that.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: mark calc_memmap_size __paging_init]
Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: Wen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Maciej Rutecki <maciej.rutecki@gmail.com>
Cc: Chris Clayton <chris2553@googlemail.com>
Cc: "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Tested-by: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/page_alloc.c