UPSTREAM next (v3.11): freezer: add unsafe versions of freezable helpers for NFS
authorColin Cross <ccross@android.com>
Wed, 15 May 2013 05:58:23 +0000 (10:58 +0530)
committerDan Willemsen <dwillemsen@nvidia.com>
Sat, 31 Aug 2013 02:10:52 +0000 (19:10 -0700)
commite4c2c912014386475e601b6207ccf673d80a4c4f
tree0eb0065f16e8b6162b9037544c7a3d186af21e5f
parent8bf3379a74bc9132751bfa685bad2da318fd59d7
UPSTREAM next (v3.11): freezer: add unsafe versions of freezable helpers for NFS

NFS calls the freezable helpers with locks held, which is unsafe
and will cause lockdep warnings when 6aa9707 "lockdep: check
that no locks held at freeze time" is reapplied (it was reverted
in dbf520a).  NFS shouldn't be doing this, but it has
long-running syscalls that must hold a lock but also shouldn't
block suspend.  Until NFS freeze handling is rewritten to use a
signal to exit out of the critical section, add new *_unsafe
versions of the helpers that will not run the lockdep test when
6aa9707 is reapplied, and call them from NFS.

In practice the likley result of holding the lock while freezing
is that a second task blocked on the lock will never freeze,
aborting suspend, but it is possible to manufacture a case using
the cgroup freezer, the lock, and the suspend freezer to create
a deadlock.  Silencing the lockdep warning here will allow
problems to be found in other drivers that may have a more
serious deadlock risk, and prevent new problems from being added.

Signed-off-by: Colin Cross <ccross@android.com>
Acked-by: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Acked-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
(cherry picked from commit 416ad3c9c0066405b83ec875b75496523549be09)

Change-Id: Ice06de739f14353e622f15585e5390a7436b1ce1
Signed-off-by: Prashant Gaikwad <pgaikwad@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/228687
GVS: Gerrit_Virtual_Submit
Reviewed-by: Bharat Nihalani <bnihalani@nvidia.com>
fs/nfs/inode.c
fs/nfs/nfs3proc.c
fs/nfs/nfs4proc.c
include/linux/freezer.h
net/sunrpc/sched.c