aio: fix io_destroy() regression by using call_rcu()
authorKent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Wed, 12 Jun 2013 21:04:59 +0000 (14:04 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 12 Jun 2013 23:29:46 +0000 (16:29 -0700)
commit4fcc712f5c48b1e32cdbf9b9cfba42a27b2e3160
tree56ffa400b048d639e67b3c239a23d1e09a86ae76
parentbba00e59107275faa615573c44eb0a513a1220a6
aio: fix io_destroy() regression by using call_rcu()

There was a regression introduced by 36f5588905c1 ("aio: refcounting
cleanup"), reported by Jens Axboe - the refcounting cleanup switched to
using RCU in the shutdown path, but the synchronize_rcu() was done in
the context of the io_destroy() syscall greatly increasing the time it
could block.

This patch switches it to call_rcu() and makes shutdown asynchronous
(more asynchronous than it was originally; before the refcount changes
io_destroy() would still wait on pending kiocbs).

Note that there's a global quota on the max outstanding kiocbs, and that
quota must be manipulated synchronously; otherwise io_setup() could
return -EAGAIN when there isn't quota available, and userspace won't
have any way of waiting until shutdown of the old kioctxs has finished
(besides busy looping).

So we release our quota before kioctx shutdown has finished, which
should be fine since the quota never corresponded to anything real
anyways.

Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Cc: Zach Brown <zab@redhat.com>
Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Reported-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Tested-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org>
Tested-by: Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/aio.c